Site Loader

Tell us a little about yourself and your horses

My name is Amy and I’m 41 years old, work full time for IT company, also own Country Champs Club an online dog show. I started riding again in 2013 with owning my own horse on my “before 40” bucket list. Molly – first horse. Beautiful Welsh D, over 20 likely a lot older. Now retired. We managed so many firsts together. She is highly strung, a total diva but just the most affectionate loving horse. Livvy – Welsh A – 12hh – 7yrs – Rescue pony from Blue Cross. Stunningly beautiful, defo not child friendly, very clever, loves squishy kisses. Also scares most of my friends which just makes me love her even more.
Mollie with Livvy who sounds like a real character
Jessie – cob x paint – 15.1hh – 10 yrs – recent addition to the family. Very sweet natured and gentle. Powerful jump, watched her ping over the fences into Molly’s field a few times when she first arrived!

 

How did your horses come into your life?

It had been a dream to own a horse since I was a child. Horses have always been in the family on my Dad’s side too.

How long have you been riding?

Had weekly lessons when I was very young, then again when I was 16/17 and was working all hours.

 

When and where do you ride?

Due to COVID-19 I’m not currently riding so I’m walking Jessie around the routes we will eventually go when the situation changes. Very lucky to be able to use two large crop fields in front and behind the yard as well as having a schooling area at the bottom of one of the bigger fields. We also have Martin Downs to conquer which is a short hack through the village.

How did you start riding?

Not entirely sure why I started lessons as a child. In 2013 I decided if I didn’t go for a lesson and start again I probably wouldn’t ever get round to it.

 

What are you currently working on?

Molly is Amy’s first horse
Molly and I joined a BD Quest Team last year and a new team this year, I’d like to pick that up again with Jessie once the restrictions are lifted. At the moment Jessie and I are just walking around and doing the odd bit of ground work, she doesn’t know how to long rein so that will be our next goal.

 

What do you love about riding?

The fact it resets my brain. My job can be really hard going and riding Molly means giving her 100% of my attention. I also love the partnership you form and meeting wonderful like-minded people along the way.

 

What you would you like to be doing in the future and do you have any goals?

I’ve signed up to the Wobbleberry 7 Goals of 2020 so will stick to them with the support of my fabulous coach Anna Noble

 

Have you ever had to deal with nerves in riding?

Always! Where I do everything on my own and don’t have a lifetime of experience I really do get the wobbles especially hacking out further than 3 miles on my own. Molly was always quite interesting to ride too so I’m sure that added to the nerves.

 

How do you deal with them?

Rescue Remedy! And then just sucking it up really, or long reining. I’m hoping Jessie will help me with the nerves, she is already proving to be very different to Molly and very curious about everything which is wonderful.

 

Your Top Tip

  Leave any baggage at home when going to the yard. You can guarantee that if I’m stressed they will act in a similar fashion. And always great them with a smile, even if you are struggling.

 

 

The Final Furlong

 

Who would be your dream horse to ride?

  I’m quite happy with my lot

 

Who is your equestrian hero?

  Pippa Funnell is formidable and I love Carl Hester’s attitude in general  

 

If you could have 5 people to dinner who would they be?

  Stephen Fry, David Bowie (if it could be anyone dead or alive), Emma Thompson, Greg Davies (celeb crush) the Queen!

Favourite colour horse?

The view atop Molly. Hacking out is so relaxing!
Bay

 

Favourite horse event

  I’m still discovering these. I go to Windsor Horse Show every year with my mum, we love watching the Hunt Relays. I only dream of being part of something like that.

Favourite food

  Cheese and Wine

Favourite way to relax

  Riding out on a quiet sunny day, or sitting in the garden. Or if very stressed sitting with the chickens, they have a wonderful way about them.

Favourite film

Childhood fave is Labyrinth with David Bowie. I do love a good thriller though
Share

Sharon Howe

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Related Posts More From Author