Site Loader

Tell us about you and Lowri

Say hello to Georgia and Lowri
I’m a 28-year-old from Wiltshire, who loves being outside in the countryside, anything horse related, and animal related for that matter.  Lowri is a 10-year old Welsh section D chestnut mare with four white socks. What a combination two red headed mares.

How did Lowri come into your life?

I was going through a difficult time with my health towards the end of 2018 and unfortunately two days after coming out of hospital I had to have my dolly cob PTS who I had on loan.  I struggled with my recovery with ongoing health issues, so my mum and partner suggested I get a new four-legged friend to distract me!  I wasn’t going to say no to that. I looked on local sites and a few websites and for some reason she kept coming up in the searches.  I was searching on a limited budget due to adult life, old vet bills etc.  I contacted her owner and found out she was up in Essex, 3 hours and a bit away! The search continued until a work colleague said what do you have to lose apart from a day and some diesel. So, I decided to go up and see her.  I took my trusty sidekick Mylo (My Springer-doodle) with me for the journey.  Well I fell in love instantly; she was so gentle putting her nose down to Mylo and chilled when I was checking her over. I rode her whilst I was there, and she was fab however we had a few moments of her testing me which I quite liked as it showed her cheeky Welshie side. I went home and arranged a vetting and thankfully a friend on the yard was happy to collect her as I don’t have my towing licence… Yet!
Mylo and Lowri are pals and get on very well together
Lowri’s previous owner said she travelled well.  You never know for sure do you? However, she travelled very well and I couldn’t fault her the whole way home.

How long have you been riding?

I had my first riding lesson when I was three, following in my big sister’s footsteps like every little sister does. In total been riding now 24 years, wow that’s scary!

Where do you ride?

Lowri is kept at my partner’s family farm on a small DIY yard.  We have a small indoor school which is great for keeping the horses ticking over, over winter. In the summer we have a few fields we create an outdoor or we hack out around the village which unfortunately is mainly roadwork.

What are you Lowri currently working on?

Before Christmas Lowri and I were working towards getting her more confident over jumps which she hasn’t done a lot of.  Due to change of circumstances I am mainly concentrating on our flat work, encouraging her to bend and stretch and continue to build our bond!

What do you love about riding?

Georgia loves the bond she is building with Lowri
I love the bond between horse and rider.  I like to use the time as my time to clear my head and think about nothing else other than what we are working on and enjoying the moment.

What you would you like to be doing in the future and do you have any goals?

Future goals for us, are to hopefully complete a small show jumping competition next year or even a one-day event.  Mainly to enjoy ourselves and have fun with no pressure.

Have you ever had to deal with nerves in riding? 

I always second doubt myself when I’m riding which I don’t think is uncommon. I get very nervous before any show or competition, but I think that shows we care.

How do you deal with nerves?

To help with my nerves, I like to be prepared.  Practice my test a few times the week before.  I have been known to run around in the field knee deep in the snow to practice. I write lists detailing what I need to take for horse and me.  Helps me not faff around the night before and actually get things down.

Your Top Tip

Take the time to get to know your new horse.  Just be around them whilst they are grazing or even in the stable, so they get used to your presence and build a bond on the ground.  I found this helped me identify when anything was wrong with Lowri or if it was common behaviour.  

The Final Furlong

 

Who would be your dream horse to ride?

I would say Spirit but that would be hard to fulfil.  

Who is your equestrian hero?

Pippa Funnell – When my childhood friend and I used to play badminton XC in my nan’s garden, trying to avoid landing in her flower beds. I was always Pippa Funnell.  

If you could have 5 people to dinner who would they be?

Tina Wallace from Life on the Left Rein Chris Hemsworth Pippa Funnell Darcey Bussell Alan Carr However, I wouldn’t torture any of them with my cooking, so it would be a takeaway.  

Favourite colour horse?

Should say Chestnut really but I love a DUN!!!!  

Favourite horse event

Badminton without a doubt!  Great couple of days filled with friends, horses and shopping!

Favourite food

Ribs

Favourite way to relax

Riding or drawing.  You always know when I’m 100% relaxed because I will draw.

Favourite film

The holiday
Share

Sharon Howe

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Related Posts More From Author