Site Loader

Tell us a little about yourself and Puzzle

Meet Hannah and Puzzle
I grew up in the South Lake District and went to school in small village called Cartmel.  I had to move to Warrington for work in 2010. I studied Earth & Environmental Science at Lancaster Uni then went to Newcastle to do masters in engineering geology!  I am now a full time engineering geologist based in North West of England Puzzle is my first horse and I bought him when I was 28.  He is a bay welsh section D gelding His favourite foods are Kendal Mint cake & brussel sprouts His favourite pastime is galloping around a cross country course and ROLLING in a muddy field! Quirks: he has a superman pose for peeing!! Biggest lesson I’ve been taught: you are their parents and they are always there for you when you are having bad days

 

How did your Puzzle come into your life?

I was loaning a horse back in 2013/2014 and early 2014 his owner wanted to take him off loan so I started looking. My heart ♥️ was set on a fell pony and I tried a few but then I realised they wouldn’t be big enough for me. During the last few weeks of my loan, one of the girls on the yard said that another girl was selling a horse on behalf of his owner. She said it was a welsh section D. I was…. erm I’m unsure! I was offered to ride him for two weeks! Well after the 1st ride I offered to buy him… and that’s how puzzle joined my family! I’ve never looked back! He is my best friend and does what I ask with a few tantrums! We’ve grown together and learnt the art of winging it at dressage! He was 12 when I bought him

How long have you been riding?

I have been riding since I was 7. That is now 26 years!

 

When and where do you ride?

Looking good going cross-country
As I have my our horse box (which I call ironvan – due to the colours) we can go anywhere but we love Aintree Equestrian Centre. When at home we mix it up with schooling in the outdoor and then the weekend hack.

How did you start riding? According to my mum – I used sit on dad work horse as he was a joiner with a saddle on. They asked me if I wanted to do it when I was old enough.

What you and Puzzle currently working on?

We are currently working on elementary to medium level dressage

What do you love about riding?

It is my way of switching off from the world.

What you would you like to be doing in the future and do you have any goals?

Our 2020 goals are (which I hope can still be achieved)
Hannah and Puzzle competing at Eland Lodge
  • To compete at BD summer pet plan in both Novice and Elementary – I have my novice points but still working on my elementary which for obs reasons has halted!
  • Attempt for BE 80cm ODE
  • Compete at medium level dressage over winter 2020
  • Attempt dressage to music
  • And most of all HAVE FUN

Have you ever had to deal with nerves in riding? 

Yes, when I began competing it was all new.

 

How do you deal with them?

Having Fun
I just had to take deep breaths and remember it is all fun

 

Your Top Tip

Over winter I have found keeping Puzzle’s tail in plaits is best way to keep it clean!

 The Final Furlong

Who would be your dream horse to ride?

Milton

Who is your equestrian hero?

Laura Collett

If you could have five people to dinner who would they be?

Johnny Depp Bruce wills Ben Hobday My friend Rachel @not_another_one_trick_pony Laura Collett

Favourite colour horse?

Purple (seriously?  Ed)

Favourite horse event

Cross country – Badminton

Favourite food

Lasagne

Favourite way to relax

Colouring, Pilates and word searches

Favourite film

Jurassic park! Lethal Weapon

     
Share

Sharon Howe

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Related Posts More From Author